Book Haul #2

Book Haul #2

Hello all!

Its been a while…

Since my last post I’ve gotten my degree and started a new job, but I’m back with a book haul!

Since finishing college, I’ve got more time to read the books I want instead of ones about finance and strategic management. So I’m really trying to make my Good Reads challenge look less pathetic.

The first part of this haul comes from Amazon. They have new books at great prices and there is also the option to buy second hand for super cheap which I love. What mainly influenced this purchase was The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena. Since its release I’ve seen it pop up all over my social media pages. After reading the synopsis, I knew I had to pick this one up. Ever since I read Gone Girl I’ve been looking for a thriller that’s just as gripping. Hopefully this is it!

cnd

“You never know what’s happening on the other side of the wall.
Your neighbour told you that she didn’t want your six-month-old daughter at the dinner party. Nothing personal, she just couldn’t stand her crying.
Your husband said it would be fine. After all, you only live next door. You’ll have the baby monitor and you’ll take it in turns to go back every half hour.
Your daughter was sleeping when you checked on her last. But now, as you race up the stairs in your deathly quiet house, your worst fears are realized. She’s gone.
You’ve never had to call the police before. But now they’re in your home, and who knows what they’ll find there.
What would you be capable of, when pushed past your limit?”

Since I was making an order anyway, I decided to buy a few more, so the next one I ordered was Asking For It by Louise O’Neill. Again, this is one I’ve heard mentioned quite a bit so i said I’d give it a go. It’s meant to be a quite an intense and shocking book so I think I’ll need to be in the right frame of mind to read this one.

afi

“In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O’Donovan is different. She is the special one – beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night …Now, she’s an embarrassment. Now, she’s just a slut. Now, she is nothing. And those pictures – those pictures that everyone has seen – mean she can never forget.”

My final order from Amazon was Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling. As a Harry Potter fan, I really needed this to expand my ever growing Hogwarts Library. I wasn’t sure if it would be for me as it is just short stories; but after reading reviews and discussing it with friends who have read it, I am now really looking forward to it!

200px-tales_of_beedle_the_bard

“There are five tales: ‘The Tale of the Three Brothers’, recounted in Deathly Hallows, plus ‘The Fountain of Fair Fortune’, ‘The Warlock’s Hairy Heart’, ‘The Wizard and the Hopping Pot’, and ‘Babbitty Rabbitty and her Cackling Stump’. Each has its own magical character and will bring delight, laughter and the thrill of mortal peril.”

The next part of my haul was from the Book Depository. I love ordering from there as their prices are often lower and they always offer free delivery. I only ordered one book from there; Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur. Again, this is another book I bought because of all the hype surrounding it. It is a book of poems which I never thought I’d go for but with the amount of positive reviews I really wanted to see if I’d like it.

mah

“The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose; deals with a different pain; heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.”

The final book I purchased was in my local Book Station shop. It’s called Flabyrinth and it’s by Jules Coll. It’s like an autobiography based on weight gain and body image, but it is also quite funny. I thought this would be a nice easy and enjoyable read.

f

“For every woman who’s ever looked in the mirror and felt crap: a funny, filthy and uplifting account of one woman’s quest to leave body insecurity behind. Jules Coll was a slim child, which was misleading in a way, as she spent her formative years doing little other than consuming vast quantities of sugar and plotting to secure her next fix. It wasn’t until her late teens, when hormones began playing havoc with her metabolism, that Jules’s diet began to take its toll. Year by year, pound by pound, her weight began to tick upwards until she was tipping the scales at 19 stone. Self-esteem at rock bottom, her love life on life support, Jules decided it was time to contemplate a radical change. Flabyrinth is the story of Jules’s escape from maximum insecurity prison”

So that’s the end of this book haul. I’d love to know if you read any of these and what you thought of them? Or if you have any recommendations for my next book haul?

Lisa

One thought on “Book Haul #2

Leave a Reply

